Lasun defeats Monguno, emerge Deputy Speaker, House of Reps

Lagos House of Assembly

Lagos House of Assembly

Lagos House of Assembly

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun representing Osogbo/Olorunda/Orolu/Irepodun of Osun state has been elected Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly.

Lasun, a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), defeated Mohammed Mungono (APC-Borno) by 203 votes to 153 votes. A total of 356 Reps-elect voted.

The Clerk of the National Assembly, Alhaji Salisu Maikasuwa, swore him in shortly after results were announced.

It would be recalled that the APC had adopted Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila and Tahir Mungono as their preferred sole candidates for Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House in a mock primary.

However, Dogara (APC-Bauchi) emerged Speaker after defeating Gbajabiamila and Mungono defeated by Lasun.

Related News

NAN reports that the House was formally inaugurated by the clerk.

Rep. Kehinde Agbola (PDP-Ekiti), described the elections of the National Assembly leadership as “free”.

Agbola also said that the elections demonstrated deepening of the country’s democracy.

“It will further improve what we have and ensure the stability of the polity.

“From the 8th assembly, Nigerians should expect that the interest of the minority and opposition will be protected,” he said.

Load more