Lagos Inaugurates Committee To Review Civil Procedures


A 16-man committee with a mandate to review the Lagos State Civil Procedure Rules, 2004, has been inaugurated by the state’s Chief Judge, Justice Inumidun Akande.

The committee, according to the chief judge, is to review various recommendations by stakeholders and members of the public about their misgivings with the rules and come up with a draft document for new rules.

Members of the committee are Justice S.O. Ilori, Justice O.O. Oke, Justice K. Alogba, Justice Y.O. Idowu, Justice O. A. Kayode-Ogunmekan, Justice S.B.A. Candide-Johnson, Justice A.O. Abiru and Justice R.I.B. Adebiyi.

Others are Justice H.O. Oshodi, Justice E.O. Willliams-Dawodu, Justice O.A. Taiwo, Justice J.E. Oyefeso, Justice O.A. Olayinka, Justice M.A. Okikiolu-Ighile, Justice L.B. Lawal-Akapo, Justice O.A. Akinlade and Justice K.A. Jose.

According to the Chief Judge, a review of the current civil procedure rule which has been in use since 2004 became expedient following some observable challenges in its usage over the years.

Related News

She stated that since the challenges were observed, series of efforts which include workshops and forum have been organized with a view to come up with another civil procedure rules that will be acceptable by all stakeholders in the state.

One of such efforts, according to Justice Akande, is the recent summit held by the state’s Attorney-General and Commissioner of Justice, Mr. Olasupo Shasore (SAN) in conjunction with members of the Bar.

She said that the recommendations of the summit had been submitted to her office and will be incorporated into the review of the 16-man committee.

The committee has up till December 2010 to complete its assignment.

—Henry Ojelu

Load more