More Centres To Host BRF Wrestlemania 2010


•Prince Adele, LOC Chairman

The organisers of the BRF Wrestlemania 2010 have announced that more centres have been selected to host the international wrestling tournament.

•Prince Adele, LOC Chairman

The Intercontinental championship, which will be held later this month, will see wrestlers from across the world storming Nigeria to honour Babatunde Raji Fashola, Governor of Lagos State, Nigeria.

According to the Chairman, Technical Committee of the tourney, Prince H.O. Mohammed, the Local Organising Committee, LOC, headed by the Commissioner for Youth, Sports and Social Development, Prince Ademola Adeniji Adele, has approved 11 centres to host the competition across the state as against the earlier planned seven centres.

The centres are Rowe Park, Yaba, Waterpark, Ikeja, Agege Mini Stadium, Agege, Alimosho-Igando Secretariat, Oshodi Sports Centre, Oshodi and Lagos State University, LASU, Sports Centre, Ojo.

Others are Badagry Town Hall, Badadry, O.D.A. House, Eredo Epe, Ikorodu Town Hall, Ikorodu, Campos Square Mini Stadium, Lagos Island and Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, Lagos.

Related News

Prince Mohammed further disclosed that surrounding local governments and Local Government Development Council Area, LCDA, will be the hosts of each centre.

“Apapa-Iganmu, Mainland and Bariga councils will be the hosts at Rowe Park centre. This centre will host the opening ceremony, which will be funfare. Ikeja, Ojodu, Onigbongbo and Ikosi-Ketu councils will be the hosts at Waterpark,” he said.

“At Agege Mini Stadium, Orile Agege, Ojokoro-Ifako Ijaiye councils will be the host. The centre At Alimosho Secretariat will be hosted by Ayobo-Ipaja, Agabdo Oke-Odo, Egbe-Idimu, Mosan-Okunola councils. Playing hosts at Oshodi Sports Centre are Ejigbo, Mushin, Odi-Olowo Ojuwoye, Oshodi/Isolo councils. LASU centre will be hosted by Iba-Otto Awori, Oriade and Amuwo Odofin councils. It will be the turn of Badagry West & East as well as Olorunda councils at the Badagry Town Hall centre. Epe, Ibeju, Ikorodu West & North, Igbogbo Bayeku and Imota-Ijede councils will host the tourney at the Ikorodu Town Hall. At the Campos Square Mini Stadium, it will be the turn of Eti-Osa West, Iru-Victoria Island, Ikoyi/Obalende, Lagos Island West & East Councils.

“The grand finale at the Teslim Balogun Stadium will be hosted by Governor Fashola, Coker Aguda, Ifelodun/Ajeromi and Surulere councils,” he said.

Load more