Nigeria Honours Remi Tinubu, LKJ, Sanusi, Otedola, 182 Others


Wife of the former Governor of Lagos State, Mrs Oluremi Tinubu.

Wife of the former Governor of Lagos State, Mrs Oluremi Tinubu, first Civilian Governor of Lagos, Alhaji Lateef Jakande, Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN Governor, Lamido Sanusi, Oba of Lagos, Rilwan Akiolu and other 182 eminent Nigerians today received national awards from the President, Goodluck Jonathan.

Wife of the former Governor of Lagos State, Mrs Oluremi Tinubu.

Other prominent Lagosians honoured were the Anyagburen of Ikorodun, Oba Salaudeen Oyefusi, the Chief Imam of Lagos Central Mosque, Alhaji Ibrahim Garuba and Mr. Femi Otedola, Chairman, African Petroleum.

The award is usually given to outstanding Nigerians for their contributions to national development. Jonathan conferred the award on distinguished Nigerians today at the International Conference Centre, Abuja, Nigeria and charged the awardees to work harder towards contributing more meaningfully to the progress of the nation.

The awardees were awarded as part of the 50th independence anniversary of Nigeria which comes up on 1 October, 2010.

Related News

While Mrs. Tinubu and Garuba bagged the Officer of the Order of Niger, OON, Jakande and Oyefusi were honoured with the Commander of the Order of Niger, CON.

Among those who also received the award is Mrs. Patricia Etteh, the controversial former Speaker, House of Representatives, who was forced to resign speakership position following alleged corrupt charges against her.

Managing Director, World Bank, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala; former Speaker, House of Representatives, Ghali Na’abba and former Military Vice President, Mike Akhigbe were among those honoured by the president.

Also,the Minister of Commerce and Industry, Jubril Martins-Kuye; Chief of Staff, Mike Oghiadhome; Chairman, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Mrs. Farida Waziri and Aloysius Katsina-Alu.. The Controller General, Nigeria Custom Sevices, Alhaji Abdullahi Dikko, Govenor of Kwara State, Dr. Bukola Saraki; wife of former Interim President, Mrs. Margaret Sonekan and the Director General, Voice of Nigeria, Mallam Abubakar Jigiwa were also honoured.  The Group Managing Director, De Tastee Fried Chicken Limited, Mrs. Olayinka Adebayo; Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba; Dr. Taiwo Afolabi, Executive Vice Chairman, Sifax Group;Chief Don Etiebet; Senator Olayinka Omilani, are among others  honoured. The highest honour given was that of the Commander of the Order of Federal Republic,CFR given to former Finance Minister, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala; the Inspector-General of Police, OgbonnaOnovo; Head of Service of the Federation,Mr.Steve Oronsaye; Justice Fati Abubakar; a justice of the Supreme Court; Justice Olufunmilola Adekeye; Brig. Gen. David Bamgboye (Retd). The ceremony was still going on in Abuja as at the time of filing this report.

—Kazeem Ugbodaga &  Paul Dada

Load more