Inclusive Units Integrated Into Schools


The Lagos State Government has concluded plans to set up Inclusive Units in three public junior secondary schools in the state with the aim of ensuring that children with special needs are not left out in acquiring the compulsory basic education.

The move is in its pursuit of implementing the Universal Basic Education (UBE) law of compulsory education for all school age children from primary to junior secondary school.

The three schools, according to a statement from the Ministry of Education, are Methodist Junior Grammar School, Badagry, Ikeja Junior Grammar School, Ikeja and Ipakodo Junior Grammar School, Ikorodu.

Related News

The schools have been equipped with necessary facilities for the smooth take off of the inclusive units beginning from the next academic session.

The government urged parents and guardians of children with special needs to avail themselves of the opportunity and ensure that they enrol their children/wards in the schools.

Inclusive Units which are schools for children with special needs within public primary schools, were introduced into the state’s education system in 2007 to encourage parents of physically challenged or children with special needs get the required education for empowerment and self reliance for the future.

Load more