Oba’s Cup Kicks Off 23 August


This year’s Obas’ Cup will kick off next Monday, 23 August, 2010 with over 160 clubs from the five divisional football associations that form the Lagos State Football Association, LSFA, competing for the trophy.

The clubs will start the battle for glory from their respective divisions with the two finalists at the finals qualifying for the state’s preliminaries.

Lagos Divisional Football Association, LDFA, has the largest number of entries with about 100 clubs, followed by Ikeja Division with 38 clubs. Ikorodu and Badagary divisions have 24 and 18 teams respectively, while Epe division has 17 entries.

Meanwhile, LDFA, will tomorrow hold its draws for the championship bankrolled by Skye Bank Plc. According to the chairman of the division, Dotun Coker, the draws will hold at 11:00 am at the boardroom of the division’s secretariat at Onikan Stadium, Lagos Island, Nigeria.

Coker, who is also a member of the state’s FA said with the new format and innovation of the championship, all the divisions will organise their own Oba’s Cup with the traditional rulers of each division presenting trophies to winners of the division.

He revealed that this year’s championship will be a mixture of sports, culture and entertainment in line with the state government’s policy of using sports to expose the tourism potential  of the state.

—Wale  Joseph

Load more