Jonathan Sacks Onovo, Others


Ogbonna Onovo, Inspector General of Police

Ogbonna Onovo, former Inspector General of Police

President Goodluck Jonathan this afternoon sacked Nigeria’s service chiefs, retaining only Air Marshal Oluseyi Petirin,who has now been promoted to the position of Chief of Defence Staff.

Major General A.O. Ihejirika is the new Chief of Army Staff. He replaces Gen. Abdulrahman Danbazzau.

In the sweeping cleanout of the nation’s security apparatus, the Inspector General of Police, Ogbonna Onovo was also removed. He was replaced by Hafiz Ringim.

President Jonathan also appointed a new Director-General of the State Security Service, SSS, Mr. Ita Ekpenyong.

The new Chief of Naval Staff is Rear Admiral O.S. Ibrahim, while the new Chief of Air Staff is Air Vice Marshal M.D Umar.

Related News

In a statement this afternoon by the Special Assistant to President Jonathan on Media and Publicity, Ima Niboro, the president thanked the outgoing service chiefs and said their tenure expired in August this year.

He also thanked them for their loyalty and selfless service to the country.

The appointment of the new service chiefs takes immediate effect but is subject to ratification by the National Assembly.

Oluokun Ayorinde/Abuja

Load more