Lagos NUJ Award: Mushin, Ayobo-Ipaja Emerge Best LGs


Mushin local government and Ayobo-Ipaja Local Council Development Area (LCDA), Lagos State,  Nigeria have been adjudged the best performing local government councils in the state.

This was announced yesterday at the local governments award and book presentation organised  by the Lagos Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) held at Martinos Hall, Ikeja.

While Mushin Local Government was adjudged the overall winner, Ayobo-Ipaja LCDA came second  in the competition which was described as very stiff by the Chairman of Lagos NUJ, Alhaji  Wahab Oba.

Lagos Mainland Local Government bagged outstanding award in roads rehabilitation and  construction; Orile Agege LCDA won in housing; Ojokoro LCDA got that of sports development;  Lagos Island East LCDA was best in youth empowerment, while Epe Local Government bagged the  agriculture award.

Iba LCDA and Ejigbo LCDA shared the outstanding award in security as Badagry West LCDA and  Olorunda LCDA also emerged joint winners in education. Onigbongbo LCDA got the poverty  alleviation award.

Related News

Other awards are: Badagry LG – water provision; Ojodu LCDA – provision of infrastructure and  Amuwo Odofin LCDA which was adjudged the best in environment.

Presenting the overall awards to Mushin LG and Ayobo-Ipaja LCDA, the senior special  assistant to Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola on Media, Mr. Hakeem Bello, who represented the  governor, advised the local government chairmen who either  won or lost to do more work for  the benefit of the people they serve.

Launching the book, Building a New Lagos, the LGA/LCDA Experience, the chairman, Editorial  Board of The Nation newspaper group, Mr. Sam Omatseye, who represented Asiwaju Bola Ahmed  Tinubu at the occasion, went back into history of how the 37 LCDAs were created through  serious struggle.

Explaining the reason for the award, Lagos NUJ chairman, Wahab Oba revealed that the union  decided to honour those who performed well after embarking on a facility tour of all the  local government councils except Ikorodu West LCDA and Agboyi-Ketu LCDA.

—Jide Osokoya

Load more