Badagry LG Boss Bags Best Chair Award


For Husitode Moses Dosu, the Chairman, Badagry Local Government Area of Lagos State, the 50th celebration of Nigeria’s independence heralded award after  award.

Indeed, judging by his sterling performances in office, the award came not as a surprise.

Recently at the Conference Hall of Bolingo Hotel, Abuja, it was the gathering of champions distinguished by records of achievements at the local government  level.

The award presented to these gladiators held many in awe. In what is almost becoming the order of the day, Husitode Moses Dosu emerged as the leader of the  pack, carting away The Best Performed Council Chairman award in the South West geopolitical zone of the country.

The award came with a Serena bus, a plaque made from rich mahogany and hundreds of exercise books with the name and award presented to the performing  chairman embossed on it.

Presenting the award to the chairman, Mr. Gani Ogundahunsi, Chairman, Board of Trustees, Raregems Media Limited, said it was a thing worthy of emulation and  commendation that there were leaders still in Nigerian politics who sought the pursuit of happiness by being dedicated to the service of others.

He particularly praised the industry and dedication of the awardees to the fulfilment of the overall purpose of governance as well as reducing poverty at the  grassroots level.

Ogundahunsi urged the awardees to always be humble and live a life of public service and pragmatism as against personal gains and aggrandisement.

Related News

In his speech, Mr. Aniyi Sunday, the editor-in-chief of Raregems, paid glowing tribute to the awardees, who he said, lived a life of selfless service to the  people.

Aniyi’s comments corroborated that of Dr. Olusola Mukomi, Chairman, Editorial Board of Raregems, who paid tribute to the awardees for their excellence in  service.

He explained that the process of nominating council chairmen for the award started with a call for nomination in a national newspaper, requesting the general  public to nominate deserving local government chairmen across the country.

The award presented to Husitode Moses Dosu was hailed by Mr. Ayo Peters, Senior Assistant on Information and Strategy as “well deserved,” saying that it  carried a challenge to do more for the people, while the chairman thanked the organisers for considering him worthy of the award.

He expressed surprise over how the organisers got his dossier.

Other local government chairmen that won awards included Prince Yinka Durosinmi, Chairman, Ojo Local Government, Lagos State; Mr. John Labai, Chairman,  Toungo Local Government, Adamawa State; Mr. Kashietu Ohiwere, Chairman, Owan East Local Government, Edo State; Alhaji Idris Yahaya Mustafa, Chairman, Doma  Local Government, Nasarawa State; Alhaji Sharafadeen Awotunde, Chairman, Ifelodun Local Government, Osun State, and Alhaji Salisu Mohammed Kwandon, Chairman,  Yamaltu/Deba Local Government in Gombe State.

  Copyright protected by Digiprove © 2010 P.M.News

Load more