JAMB Pardons Sanctioned Varsities


The Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB, has pardoned the universities that participated in last year’s six month strike. The board had hitherto announced that the institutions in question will not be allowed to admit students for the 2011/2012 academic session.

Last Wednesday, JAMB rescinded its earlier decision and allowed the universities to admit students for the new session.

Some of the affected state-owned institutions include Abia State University (ABSU), Ebonyi State Universities (EBSU), Rivers State University of Technology (RSUT), Anambra State University (ANSU), Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU) and Lagos State University (LASU) among others.

JAMB registrar, Dibu Ojerinde, announced that candidates willing to apply for admission into the universities can now do so with the assurance that their registration will be duly accepted by the board.

The registrar has ordered that JAMB’s official website should be updated to accommodate the hitherto suspended schools.

—Bukola Lawal

  Copyright protected by Digiprove © 2011 P.M.News