Court: No Gov Polls In 5 States, Affected States: Kogi, Sokoto, Adamawa, Bayelsa And C/River

Gov. Murtala Nyako

Gov. Murtala Nyako

A Federal High Court sitting in Abuja and presided over by Justice Adamu Bello this afternoon, held that the governors of Kogi, Sokoto, Adamawa, Bayelsa and Cross River states will complete their tenures in office as governors of their states in 2012.

Gov. Murtala Nyako of Adamawa State.

This is as a result of the nullification of their election of April 2007 and subsequent governorship rerun election in the respective states.

The affected governors had last year, dragged the Independent National Electoral commission, INEC, and the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, before the court after INEC released a tentative election time table which indicated that the 2011 election will hold in their respective states as in other states of the Federation except Anambra, Ondo, Edo, Ekiti and Osun states.

Gov. Timipre Sylva of Bayelsa State.

They had urged the court to rely on the Supreme Court decision in the case of Governor Peter Obi of Anambra State against INEC in resolving the issue of the calculation of their tenure which they claimed ought to have started from the date they took oath of allegiance and oath of office, after emerging winners of the governorship rerun elections in their states.

Related News

Gov. Liyel Imoke of Cross River State.

Despite attempts by the electoral body to convince the court not to destabilise the election plans, the court held that the tenure of the affected governors will end in the following order:

Governor Ibrahim Idris – 2012; Aliyu Wamakko of Sokoto – 28 May, 2012; Murtala Nyako of Adamawa – 30 April 2012; Timipre Sylva of Bayelsa – 29 May, 2012, and Liyel Imoke of Cross River – 28 August, 2012.

—Nnamdi Felix/Abuja