Nations Cup Qualifier: No Hiding Place For Ethiopia —Siasia


•Siasia: Heartland Coach.

Chief Coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria, Samson Siasia, has boasted that there would be no hiding place for their Ethiopian counterparts in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifier scheduled for the Abuja National Stadium on 27 March.

Samson Siasia

The former Nantes of France striker, who once laced his boots for the national team, yesterday released a 24-man list with players across Europe and two from the Nigerian Premier League, NPL. Siasian believes the invited players have what it takes to wreak havoc on Ethiopia in the qualifier.

Siasia, who guided Nigeria’s U-23 male team to win silver medal in the football event of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, is upbeat that with the calibre of players called to camp, he is sure of  scaling the hurdles of Ethiopia and securing the three points at stake in the crucial game.

Related News

The soccer tactician has a herculean task of beating their opponents for the Eagles to close the gap between them and Equatorial Guinea, who are on top of Group B with six points, while Nigeria have three points with the same number of matches.

Saisia’s 24-man list
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv/Isreal), Dele Aiyenugba (Bnei Yehuda/Isreal)
Defenders: Chibuzor Okonkwo (Heartland/Nigeria), Ayodele Adeleye (Metallurh Donetsk/Ukraine), Taye Taiwo (Marseille/France), Olubayo Adefemi (Xanthi/Greece), Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Braga/Portugal), Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce/Turkey), Efe Ambrose (FC Ashdod/Isreal)
Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea/England), Obiora Nwankwo (Parma/Italy), Joel Obi (Inter Milan/Italy), Fegor Ogude (Valerenga/Norway), Kalu Uche (Almeria/Spain) Nnamdi Oduamadi (AC Milan/Italy)
Forwards: Obafemi Martins (Birmingham City/England), Ike Uche (Real Zaragoza/Spain), Ahmed Musa (VVV Venlo/Netherland), Osaze Odemwingie (West Bromwich Albion/England), Obinna Nsofor (West Ham/England), Victor Anichebe (Everton/England), Peter Utaka (Odense Boldklub/Denmark), Solomon Okoronkwo (Aalesund/Norway), Ekigho Ehiosun (Warri Wolves/Nigeria).