Customs Win Maritime Cup


The Nigeria Customs Service, NCS, last weekend defeated the Nigerian Shippers Council, NSC 1-0 at the Legacy pitch of the National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos, to lift the 3rd Ships and Ports soccer challenge tagged; the Dikko Maritime Cup 2011.

The goal came during the first half of the extra time through a free kick a few metres away from the 18-yard box of the Shippers Council.

The National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders, NAGAFF, had earler defeated Sifax Group 1-0 same day to win the third place match.

The two-weeks competition, organised by the Ships and Ports Communication Company attracted the big wigs and companies in the Nigerian Maritime Industry, while the trophy was donated by the Nigerian Customs Service, NCS.

At the end of the tourney, the highest goal scorer’s award was won by Tony Lolo of Sifax Group, who scored six goals The trophy was donated by NAGAFF.

The best goalkeeper’s trophy was donated by the Nigerian Ports Authority, NPA, and won by Customs’ Steve James, while the Most Valuable Player, MVP award donated by Sifax Group went to Customs’ Adesegun Adeniyi.

Related News

The Best Behaved Team trophy, donated by the Nigerian Shippers Council was won by Sifax Group, while the Fair Play award, donated by APM Terminals, Apapa, was won by NSC.

The Highest scoring Team award, donated by the Lagos Deep offshore logistics, LADOL, was won by NAGAFF.

Speaking during the presentation of trophies and awards, the Chief Executive Officer of Ships and Ports Communication Company, Bolaji Akinola, commended all the 12 teams that participated in the competition, and praised them for the spirit of sportsmanship displayed by the participants.

The Acting Comptroller of Federal Operations Unit (FoU) Zone ‘A’, Mr. Victor Dimka who represented the Comptroller General of Customs, Alhaji Dikko Inde said that the competition has no doubt helped to promote friendship among the various organisations in the Nigerian Maritime Industry.

Among the dignitaries that graced the occasion included; the Executive Secretary of the Nigerian Shippers Council, NSC, who was represented by the Deputy Director, Medical, Dr. Tom Obayan, Group Managing Director of Sifax Group, represented by Major Henry Ajetunmobi (retd), founder of NAGAFF and Dr. Boniface Aniebonam.

Load more