PDP Creates Upset in Kano, CPC Trails


The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Kano North-West Nigeria made remarkable impact in the just concluded National Assembly elections sweeping 11 out of the 21 federal constituencies where elections were held and two out of the three Senatorial Districts.

General Muhammadu Buhari’s party, the Congress for Progressive Change, CPC, made an unimpressive outing as it was able to win only two Federal Constituencies out of 21 where elections were held in the state. Elections were not held in Gwarzo/Kabo, Dala and Rogo/Karaye constituencies, as they were among the federal constituencies where elections were postponed by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

.The result of the elections is in sharp contrast to the situation in 2007 when THE All Nigerian Peoples Party, ANPP, won about 23 Federal constituencies and two Senatorial Districts.

Senator Bello Hayatu Gwarzo retained his seat in Kano North Senatorial District, while cousin to the late General Sani Abacha and former in-law to General Ibrahim Babangida, Bashir Garba Muhammad Lado of the PDP won Kano Central, with the current Senate Deputy Minority Whip, Senator Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya of the ANPP, winning Kano South Senatorial District.

The Kano State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Alh. Abdullahi Umar Danyaya, who announced the results, told newsmen that the conduct of the National Assembly elections was free, fair and credible.

Related News

However, elections were not held in three Federal Constituencies, namely, Kabo/Gwarzo, Dala and Rogo/Karaye, due to inadequate election materials.The ruling party in the state, the ANPP managed to secure eight House of Representatives seats, while the CPC known as Buhari’s party in the north, performed woefully, winning in Nassarawa and Tarauni Federal Constituencies.

The PDP regained the confidence of the Kano voters , contrary to expectations that the Buhari led CPC would sweep the polls in Kano State, given the popularity of the Katsina born General in the state.

Major casualties in the just concluded parliamentary elections, include a three-term lawmaker, Hon. Danlami Hamza of the ANPP, who lost Fagge Federal Constituency seat to a veteran labour leader, Alhaji Aminu Suleiman of the PDP, who polled 25,929 votes.Incumbent Federal lawmaker, Hon. Ubale Jakanda Kiru also suffered humiliation at the polls, losing Kiru/Bebeji Federal Constituency to Alhaji Abdulkadir Jibrin of the PDP who got 51,221 votes, while Hon. Mohammed Abubakar Maifata of the ANPP lost Tarauni Federal Constituency to Alhaji Nasiru Babale Ila of the CPC who secured 25,158 votes.In Gwale Federal Constituency, the election ended in favour of PDP’s Alhaji Bashir Galadanci, who 21,787 votes to floor incumbent Hon. A. A. Sule Lokon-Makera of the ANPP. It was however a smooth sail for Hon. Faruk Lawan of the PDP, who won the Bagwai/Shanono Federal Constituency seat by 41,508 votes to return to the green chamber for the fourth consecutive time.Another returnee, Hon. Haruna Musa Fatahi of the ANPP won the Kano Municipal Federal Constituency Seat by 31,337 votes, while the current Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, Hon. Abdulrahaman Suleiman Kawu retained his Takai/Sumaila Federal Constituency seat with 52,704 votes.

By Maduabuchi Nmeribeh/Kano

Load more