Final Result: Jonathan Wins Clearly


President Goodluck Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan, the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has clearly, by a very  wide margin,  won Nigeria’s presidential election held across the country yesterday.

Jonathan: Wins 4 more years

Results so far declared in most states across the country and tallied by P.M NEWS,  show that Jonathan defeated  presidential candidates of the Congress for Progressive Change, CPC, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari; Action Congress of  Nigeria, ACN, Malam Nuhu Ribadu and Ibrahim Shekarau of the ANPP in all the 17 states in Southern Nigeria.


In the South-South and South East geopolitical zone,  Jonathan swept the states by landslide in the two zones and  also won five of the six states in the southwest zone.


Osun is the only state he lost in the Southwest, to the Action Congress of Nigeria candidate, Nuhu Ribadu. And even  there, Jonathan won more than the constitutionally stipulated minimum 25 per cent of the votes. He scored 188,409  votes. Ribadu scored 299,711 votes. The CPC candidate, Muahmmadu Buhari was not in contention for votes in this  state at all, as he scored a miserable 6, 997 votes.


Jonathan also swept Kogi State in the North Central zone by a wide margin of 399,816 votes to Buhari’s 132,201  votes. Jonathan won by a landslide in Lagos, with 1,281,688 as against Ribadu’s 427,203 votes and Buhari’s 189,983.


The PDP candidate equally trounced other candidates in Akwa Ibom State. While Jonathan garnered 1,165,629 votes,  Ribadu of ACN got 54,149 votes while Buhari got 5,348 votes.


In Rivers State, Jonathan also won convincingly, with 1,817,762 votes. He trounced Ribadu who won only 13,182 votes  and Buhari, 16,382 votes


Related News

The president also won over one million votes in Abia State while CPC and ACN performed woefully. CPC got 3,608  votes while ACN got 4,156 votes.


With results announced in more than 25 states, and collation of results in the remaining 11 states reaching advanced  stage, Jonathan has won the highest number of votes and also satisfied the constitutional requirement of winning 25  per cent of the votes in two thirds of Nigeria’s 36 states. Jonathan also won the Federal Capital Territory of  Abuja, defeating the CPC candidate, by 253,444 to Buhari’s votes of 131, 576 votes.


By these results,  Jonathan, has overcome the constitutional hurdles of being re-elected.


Section 133 (b) of the 1999 constitution states that “A candidate for an election to the office of President shall  be deemed to have been duly elected to such office where, being the only candidates nominated for the election – he  has not less than one-quarter of the votes cast at the election in each of at least two-thirds of all the state in  the federation and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.


Before the election, most polls carried out in Nigeria, gave an unassailable lead to Jonathan. The voting  countrywide has finally confirmed the results of the polls.


After voting in his home town of Otueke in Bayelsa state, President Jonathan had expressed optimism that he would  win at the first ballot, describing the possibility of a re-run as a very expensive exercise.


The official result will be announced by the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Professor  Attahiru Jega, later today in Abuja.

Load more