25 Rural Communities Get Electricity


At least, 25 rural communities in Lagos State, southwest Nigeria, have been provided with electricity by the Lagos State government.

The benefiting communities include Onigbongbo, Offin, Ora in Epe, Ijako in Eredo and Ogunjobi in Ayobo Ipaja.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Engr. Babatunde Oshodi disclosed this yesterday while inspecting the rural electrification project at Otun Ishasi Titun in Igbogbo Baiyeku Local Council Development Area.

Oshodi said the state government was carrying out 25 rural electrification simultaneously in rural communities as part of government’s efforts to light up all nooks and crannies of the state.

This, according to him, was in fulfillment of Governor Babatunde Fashola’s promise that “no matter where you are, the state government will cater for your needs.”

Related News

The Permanent Secretary also visited Onigbongbo in Ikeja and Offin in Ikorodu to inspect rural electrification projects.

The state government had two weeks ago given 120 transformers to rural communities to complement existing ones.

A community leader at Otun Ishasi Titun, Chief Rafiu Aregbesola commended the state government for the project. He said before now, the community used to get light from Ibeshe which was never regular.

—Kazeem Ugbodaga

Load more