Amosun Wins Ogun, Ajimobi Leads In Oyo

Senator Ibikunle Amosun (l) and Ajimobi

Senator Ibikunle Amosun of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, has won the governorship election in Ogun State held yesterday.

Senator Ibikunle Amosun (l) and Ajimobi.

He was declared winner of the election this afternoon by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, returning officer for Ogun State, Professor Olaiya Balogun.

Amosun beat his closest rival, Chief Adetunji Olurin in 18 out of the 20 local governments in the state.

He won overwhelmingly in Abeokuta North Local Government Area, scoring 33,739 votes. Olurin had 9,754 and ANPP 6,079.

However, the PDP’s candidate won in his homestead, Egbado North with 17,675 to Amosun’s 15,851. Isiaka of PPN polled 11,441.

Similarly, Isiaka won 12,606 votes as against Amosun’s 9,610 and PPN’s 12,606.

Amosun won the election with a total of 377,487 votes while Olurin of the PDP garnered 188, 698 votes and Isiaka of PPN got 137,051 votes.

Meanwhile, Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, was coasting home to victory in Oyo State as at 12.30 p.m. today. Of the 27 local governments where results have been officially announced, ACN was leading in most local governments followed by Peoples Democratic Party, with Accord Party lagging behind.

Results in two local governments which will decide the winner are Ogbomosho North Local Government which is the strength of PDP and Ibadan South-West which is the stronghold of ACN are yet to be released.

The results officially released revealed that ACN won in Afijio with 8,477 votes, followed by PDP with 6,014 votes, Accord 4,865 votes. Ibarapa North PDP won with 8,884 votes followed by ACN has 6,602 votes, Accord 4,3431 votes. PDP won in Ibarapa East with 7, 950 votes followed by Accord with 6, 375 votes and ACN 6,086 votes. In Atiba, ACN won 18,518 votes followed by PDP with 7, 565 votes and Accord 3,590 votes.

PDP won in Atisbo with 6,779 votes followed by ACN with 7, 407 votes and Accord, 1,935 votes. ACN won in Oluyole with 15,634 votes, while Accord scored 12,391 votes and PDP with 6,019 votes.

Results from other local governments revealed that PDP won in Saki East with 7, 674 votes, followed by ACN 5,344 votes and Accord has 1,293 votes. ACN won in Orelope with 7,626 votes, followed by PDP with 6,669  votes and Accord with 3,188 votes.

PDP won in Orire with 21,912 votes, followed by Accord with 6, 866 votes and ACN has 2,833 votes. ACN won in Saki West with 15,917 votes, followed by PDP with 14,907 votes with Accord having 7,500 votes.

ACN won in Ibadan North with 36,764 votes, followed by Accord with 33,902 votes and PDP with 19,769 votes. ACN also won in Ibadan North West with 18,870 votes, followed by Accord with 9, 578 votes and PDP scoring 11,069 votes.

In Ibadan South-East, ACN won with 24,948 votes, Accord, 21,961 votes and PDP, 11,284 votes. In Iwajowa, PDP won by 8,461 votes, followed by ACN, 7,464 votes and Accord, 1,642 votes.


Amosun’s Victory At A Glance


Ifo ACN 34,912 PDP9,754 PPN6,079

Abeokuta North ACN33,739 PDP9,103 PPN5,309

Abeokuta South ACN49,977 PDP10,199 PPN8,184

Sagamu ACN21,543 PDP14,121 PPN7,917

Ewekoro ACN13,641 PDP6,165 PPN2,800

Odeda ACN14,120 PDP5,141 PPN4,104

Ijebu Ode ACN18,646 PDP4,290 PPN6,843

Odogbolu ACN12,459 PDP6,828 PPN7,773

Ijebu East ACN10,094 PDP4,755 PPN6,516

Ijebu North East ACN7,846 PDP3,581 PPN4,851

Remo North ACN5,932 PDP4,468 PPN4,894

Ipokia ACN21,343 PDP18,040 PPN6,325

Ogun Waterside ACN7,943 PDP6,562 PPN4,143

Imoke-Afon ACN9,610 PDP3,789 PPN12,606

Ado-Odo/Ota ACN39,077 PDP16,196 PPN10,759

Egbado North ACN15,851 PDP17,675 PPN11,441

Ikenne LG ACN8,624 PDP7,105 PPN5,602

Obafemi / Owode 21,597 6,082 PPN6,376

Ijebu North 15,768 15,014 8,372

Egbado South 14,764 19,832 6,160

Total 377,487 188,698 137,051


—Lanre Babalola/Abeokuta & Gbenro Adesina/ Ibadan


Load more