Siasia Drops Osaze, Names 26 For Argentina, Ethiopia Games


Super Eagles chief coach Samson Siasia this afternoon dropped current English Premier League Player of the month, Osaze Odemwingie in a 26-man list named for the 1 June international match against Argentina in Abuja.

Osaze’s exclusion in the team that would also play in the 2012 African Cup of Nations qualifying match against Ethiopia on 6 June, was expected based on his recent unguarded statement about his relationship with national team coaches, especially Siasia.

Osaze featured in Eagles’ last Nations Cup game against Ethiopia in Abuja, but left the Nigerian camp when the team were preparing for a friendly match against Kenya without the permission of the coaches.

The EPL Player for the month of April, worsen his case when he posted disrespectful messages about his coach, Siasia on his Twitter page, defending his departure from the Eagles’ camp.

In Siasia’s opinion, Osaze erred and does not deserve a place in his team based on his attitude to national duties.

Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Mikel Obi and skipper Joseph Yobo are included in the team that would tackle Argentina in Abuja.

In the list are goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Dele Aiyenugba (Bnei Yehuda, Israel) and Austin Ejide (Hapoel Petah Tikva, Israel), while the defenders called up are: Chibuzor Okonkwo (Heartland FC, Nigeria), Yusuf Mohammed (Al Hilal, Sudan), Taye Taiwo (Olympique Marseille, France), Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Yusuf Ayila (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine), Dele Adeleye (Metalurh Donetsk, Ukraine) and Efe Ambrose (Ashdod MS, Israel).

The midfielders are: Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England), Joel Obi (Inter Milan, Italy), Fegor Ogwude (Valerenga, Norway), Kalu Uche (Almeria FC, Spain), Nosa Igiebor, Lillestrom FC, Norway), Nnamdi Oduamadi (AC Milan, Italy) and Isaac Promise (Manisapor FC, Turkey).

The players invited to fight for shirts in the attack are: Ahmed Musa (VVV Venlo, Netherlands), Victor Anichebe (Everton, England), Peter Utaka (Odense Boldklub, Denmark), Obinna Nsofor (West Ham, England), Ikechukwu Uche (Real Zaragoza, Spain), Ekigho Ehiosun (Warri Wolves, Nigeria)and Emmanuel Emenike (Karabukspor FC, Turkey) while Victor Moses (Wigan FC, England) and Shola Ameobi (Newcastle, England) are on the waiting list. 

By Tunde Oyedele

Load more