List Of New Senior Advocates Of Nigeria Released


The Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee in Abuja on Thursday met at the Supreme Court complex and approved 2 separate lists containing 15 names each, of candidates elevated to the Senior Advocate rank for year 2010 and 2011 respectively.


The exercise was marred last year following controversies and strong opposition by stakeholders against the manner in which the selection process was being conducted by the committee charged with the responsibility of screening applicants for the elitist legal honour.


Lawyers who were elevated for year 2010 following the harmonious resolution of all controversies against the exercise are as follows, Pat Onegbedan, Isaac Nwazue Ijioma, Agatha Obiozo Mbamali, Chief Dan Ose Okoh, Kenneth Ekene Mozia, Yahaya Mahmood, Olarenwaju Ayodele Ogunlesi, Chief Ferdinand Oshioke Orbih, Anthonia Titilola Akinlawon, Oluwemimo Adepoju Revell Ogunde, Prof Imran Oluwole Smith from the academia, Ikechukwu Ezechukwu, Okechukwu Amechi, Nnaji Jude Ositadinma and Abiodun Jelili Owonikoro.


Related News

Those on the list for 2011 are as follows: Faye Dikio, Garba Shamtu Pwul, Granville Isetima Abibo, Samuel Tomi Ologunorisa, Hassan Mahmud Liman, Babatunde Adekunle Aiku, Dr. Peter Terkaa Akper, an academic, Adesegun Mohammed Ajibola, Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, Okon Nkanu Efut, David Oghenovo Ezaga, James Uko Kalu Igwe, also an academic, Norrison Ibinabo Quakers, Jibrin Samuel Okutepa and Solomon Eyibio Umoh.


The newly elevated senior advocates will be sworn in by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Aloysius Katsina-Alu, on a date to be announced soon.


By Nnamdi Felix / Abuja