Disregard Impeachment Threat —Badagry LCDA Clerk


The alleged impeachment of the chairman of Badagry West Local Council Development Area, Lagos State, Hon. Joseph Hontoyon Bamgbose, by two of the councillors has been described as null and void.

The Clerk of the house, Mr. Enoch Adetutu Odufayo, yesterday said the councillors failed to follow the due process of impeachment. He, therefore, urged the people to disregard the notice being passed around by the two legislators since they have no constitutional backing to that effect.

He said that apart from the two different notices which contradicted one another, the legislators did not form the required two third majority to qualify them to impeach the chairman.

The Clerk said one of the impeachment notices issued the same day was signed by two legislators the other was signed by three lawmakers, thereby giving room for suspicion that the signature of one of them was forged.

Odufayo said the legislators, though have the right to impeachment, the sole responsibility of writing the notice was vested in the Clerk of the House who, were it to be done legitimately, should extract from the minutes of the meeting of the legislators where the impeachment decision was taken and write the notice to the chairman.

The clerk, therefore, advised the public to disregard the impeachment notice, describing it as “unfounded rumour”.

Related News

Reacting, Bamgbose said he did not receive any impeachment letter but that his attention was drawn to it by the clerk of the House who showed him a copy.

He said the alleged impeachment notice shown to him by the clerk was fraught with baseless and unsubstantiated allegations.

The chairman said as someone who has served two terms in the state House of Assembly, he is aware that the due process of impeachment was not followed.

He, therefore, advised the legislators to withdraw the notice with apology.

Two of the legislators, Sewanu Popogbe (Leader) and Muyiwa Adanagbo( Majority Leader) signed the alleged impeachment letter while three others, Anthony Zinsu(Deputy Leader), Attah Sejiro Ibrahim(Chief Whip) and Gbenu Abel Moses(Deputy Chief Whip) did not sign it. The other impeachment notice carried the signature of Zinsu Anthony.

The legislators had on Tuesday, July 12, 2011 accused the council chairman of mismanagement of funds and failure to appear before the lawmakers for questioning.