Ogun Assembly Confirms 18 Commissioners, 20 SA's


Ogun State House of Assembly this evening confirmed the 18 commissionership nominees sent to the House by the governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun last week.

The lawmakers also approved the 20 nominees for Special Advisers which was sent to the House this morning from the governor’s office.

Only one person, Mr Olugbenga Otenuga was absent today during the screening exercise.

The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Surajudeen Ishola Adekunbi read a letter sent to the lawmakers from the nominee pleading to the House to excuse him from the screening on health ground as doctor’s report was attached to the letter which was shown to all members.

Among those that were screened this morning at the Committee Room 215 of the Assembly Complex included three children of prominent Ogun state indigenes.

They are the eldest son of Nobel Laureate, Pof. Wole Soyinka, Dr. Olaokun Soyinka who is a medical doctor who specialised in Cardiology.

Others are the son of the cultural icon, the late Hubert Adedeji Ogunde, Barrister Wemimo Adepoju Ogunde (SAN) and medical doctor-trained son of the Osile Oke-Ona, Egba, Oba (Dr.) Adedapo Tejuoso, Prince (Dr.) Olanrewaju Tejuosho.

Also screened today was former Speaker of the House during Segun Osoba’s administration in 1999, Rt. Hon. (Barr.) Oladipupo Olumuyiwa Oladipo, who was the first person to be screened and he was asked to just take a bow and leave. Four ACN stalwarts among the nominees were also asked to take a bow and go.

The former Chairman of Abeokuta South, Chief Olu Odeyemi, Chairman of Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN),in Ogun West, Dr. Daniel Adejobi Bolarinwa, former Majority Leader of the House in 1992-1993 Hon.(Chief) Falilu Adebisi Sabitu from Ogun Waterside and 64-year old Pa Samuel Ayedogbon Durojaye were also sreened.

Others include Otunba Abimbola Ashiru , a banker with Stanbic IBTC, Arc. Olamilekan Adegbite, Barr.John Olusegun Odubela (Esq), and the Chairman of the Editorial Board of ThisDay newspaper, Yusuf Adebola Olaniyonu; an Ijebu Ode-born Quantity Surveyoy, Mr Adebayo Adeniyi Fari and Hon. Ayobami Oluwunmi Olubori.

Three women also appeared before the House for screening. They are Mrs Oluwande Muoyo, Folakemi Adeosun and Mrs Elizabeth Olayinka Sonubi.

The duo of Soyinka and Ogunde promised to bring their wealth of experience in the field of health and legal profession to bear on their jobs, adding that it was an honour to be part of the change process in the state.

At the end of about 4 hours screening, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Surajudeen Ishola Adekunbi, said that Committee of the Whole House had successful screened the nominees and, “will get back to them in due course.’’

The state governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun is expected to swear-in the new commissioners tomorrow if the industrial action planned by the labour union is shelved.

By Abiodun Onafuye/ Abeokuta 

Load more