Candid FC Lift Ibeju Lekki Chairman’s Cup


Candid Football Club of Awoyaya have won the 2011 Prince Bayo Balogun Football Championship tagged Chairman’s Cup with a resounding victory over Invisible FC of Iberekodo.

Invisible defeated Candid 5-4 in a game that ended through penalty shootout at the playground of Roman Catholic Primary School, Ibeju-Agbe Town, Lagos State, last weekend.

The final was watched by a large crowd which included the chairman of Ibeju-Lekki Local Government, Prince Bayo Balogun, who is fondly called ‘The Special One’.

The third place match was won by Okanlomo FC, who defeated Lakowe FC in a grudge match that ended 3-1.

Related News

Various awards were given to deserving players and teams at the end of the competition, these include the Best Behaved Team award which was won by Invisible. Jimoh Ibrahim of Candid FC won the best goalie award. Highest Goal scorer award went to Bakare Aliu of Okanlomo, while the Most Valuable Player, MVP, award went to Sharmark Akapo of Candid FC.

Prince Balogun, who presented the trophy to the winning team, praised the gallantry display of the two finalists and congratulated Invisible FC for lifting the trophy after a rigorous competition.

“I’m happy that the two finalists justified their place in the final and the winners were so good to win the trophy,” he said.

“I also want to commend the fans who defied the rain to watch the best of grassroots championship as displayed by the team today. This shows that with support these players have a brighter future ahead,” he said.

Load more