Governor Ajimobi nominates 16 commissioners


Oyo State House of Assembly has confirmed receiving the lists of Governor Abiola Ajimobi’s nominees for the posts of commissioners and special advisers. Included are also nominees to be appointed as chairmen of the 33 local councils. In all, the Governor proposes to appoint 16 commissioners.


Authoritative sources revealed to P.M. NEWS that Governor Abiola Ajimobi sent the lists to the House yesterday for consideration.


The House also approved 20 Special advisers to the governor as the appointees do not need to pass through the scrutiny of the House.



While the Oyo State Speaker of House of Assembly, Honourable Monsurat Sumonu slated the screening of the caretaker chairmen for tomorrow Friday August 5, 2011, she slated that of the commissioner nominees to Tuesday August 9, 2011.


She urged all the nominees to come to the floor of the house with 42 copies of their Curriculum Vitae and credentials, party membership card and other materials that would be useful during the screening exercise.


The speaker stepped down the declaration of eight nominees of the contentious local councils Iddo, Ona Ara, Egbeda, Itesiwaju, Akinyele, Ibadan North East, Atisbo and Lagelu.



Among those listed as commissioners are the former Secretary, Nigeria Bar Association (NBA), Ibadan Chapter, Barrister Bayo Ojo,

Kazeem Adedeji, Dr. Olaniyi Olarinde, Alhaji Dauda Wasiu, Peter O. Odetomi, Nureni Adisa, Dr. Abdul-Lateef Olopoeniyan, Ajiboye Omodewu, Abimbola Kolade, Adeolu Adeleke, Bosun Oladele, Mrs. Tinuke Oshunkoya, Zachius Adelabu, Lowo Obisesan, Mrs. Tokunbo Fayokun and Esther Akerele.


Among the nominees for caretaker chair are the Oyo State Secretary of Action Congress (ACN),Wasiu Olatubosun

Alhaji Najeem Bolaji for Ibadan South East, Bolaji Taoreed Adeleke for Ibadan South West, Idris Apade for Ibadan North, P C E Abass Aleshinloye for Oluyole, Lanre Olaosebikan for Ibarapa East, Akinyemi Akinlabi for Ibarapa Central, Stephen A. Ojelere for Ibarapa North, Olorode S. Oluade for Afijio, P C E Akeem Adeyemi for Atiba, Tiamiyu K. Taiwo for Oyo East, Soji Ojuawo for Oyo West, P C E Ajiboye Oyewunmi for Ogbomosho North, and Isacc Olajide for Ogbomosho South.


Others include: Jacob B. Abidoye, for Oriire, Remi Adegboyega for Ogooluwa, Azees I. Gbadeniyi for Surulere, Popoola Moses for Saki West, Adebayo Wahab for Saki East, Comrade Oyebisi Ajibola for Olorunsogo, Odeniji S. Niyi for Oorelope, Honourable Yekeen Popoola for Irepo, Saheed Adegbenga For Iseyin, Sunday F. Ogungbenro for Kajola and Salawu Tajudeen Olawale for Iwajowa.


—Gbenro Adesina/Ibadan

Load more