ACN Approves Third Term For LG Chairmen


The national leader of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has said that there will be third term for two local government chairmen in the state.

Tinubu, who disclosed this during the stakeholders’ meeting at the party’s secretariat on Acme Road, Ogba, Lagos, Southwest Nigeria, however, refused to mention the affected councils but added that the issue has been agreed upon by the leadership of the party and the governor, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola.

At the meeting, the party also resolved to allow chairmen and councillors who are completing their tenure to go for a second term.

He said the party has resolved to allow serving chairmen to renew their mandates because what is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.

The former Lagos State governor who spoke on the outcome of the party leaders’ meeting, which preceded the stakeholders’ meeting, urged members to get ready to battle the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the council polls.

Related News

Party elders and leaders said that second term ticket was not a blanket offer, adding that chairmen who did not perform would not be picked.

The meeting, attended by all the top leaders of the party across the councils, was addressed by the Asiwaju himself, who urged members to return home to prepare for the election.

At the meeting chaired by the party chairman, Otunba Oladele Ajomale, were Governor Babatunde Fashola, Pa Olatunji Hamzat, Pa Busura Alebiosu, Pa Akanni Seriki, Pa Akanni Suara, Pa Tajudeen Olusi, Pa Olorunfunmi Basorun, Cardinal James Odunmbaku, Senator Oluremi Tinubu, Senator Olorunnimbe Mamora and Mrs Folake Sokunbi.

Others were Hon. Ademorin Kuye, Hon. Kayode Opeifa, Hon. Rotimi Agunsoye, Hon. Ebenezer Akinbolade, Hon. Kehinde Babalola-Adepoju, Primate Charles Odugbesi, Alhaji Mutiu Are, Chief Funso Ologunde, Comrade Joe Igbokwe, Chief Alabi Macfoy, Chief Lanre Rasak, Dr Tola Kasali, Hon. Lanre Odubote, Hon. Arole Fansy, Hon. Abiodun Mafe, Hon. Ayodele Adewale, Hon. Huntiyun Bamgbose and Dr Augustine Arogun.

Load more