Scrabble: Federation Selects 5 Players For Poland Tourney


The Nigeria Scrabble Federation, NSF, has selected five players that will represent the country at the World Scrabble Championship which will hold from October 12–16, 2011 at the Hilton Hotel in Warsaw, Poland.

The players selected to make the trip to Warsaw include Dokun Esan, Sunday Oshodi, Moses Peters, Nsikan Etim and Moshood Sanni.

P.M Sports learnt from President of the NSF, Engineer Toke Aka, that the players were selected at the weekend from a pool of players that competed in an intense qualifier held at Shells Sports Club in Portharcourt,Rivers State.

“I am confident of the players selected to represent the country and I am looking forward to them surpassing our previous achievements in the championship,” he said

Meanwhile, there have been reactions from scrabble pundits from various quarters over the absence of the nine unbanned players from the list.

They claimed it might not be unconnected with the controversy they caused when they refused to remit part of President Jonathan’s financial largesse to the federation’s coffers as directed by the federation.

When P.M Sports sought the reactions of some of the players, one of them, who did not want his identity revealed, said “I wish the selected players good luck when they get to Poland.”

—Bamidele Olowosagba

Load more