Ajimobi Swears In 18 Commissioners


Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state today swore in 18 commissioners and 10 special advisers and assistants.

Among the commissioners were Dapo, the son of the leader of Action Congress of Nigeria ( ACN), Alhaji Lam Adesina and Kafayat Adebisi Adeojo, the daughter of PDP leader, Alhaji Yekinni Adeojo.

In his speech, Ajimobi stated that the appointment of the commissioners was a difficult task, stressing that it became more difficult when 18 commissioners had to be picked among millions that were qualified.

He said members of his cabinet yet to be approved by the House of Assembly were commissioner nominees for the ministries of Special Duties and Culture and Tourism.

He noted that the process of the appointment might not be perfect but noted that only people of impeccable character were appointed.

He said he was so secretive about the appointment as none of them knew their appointment before the swearing in, adding that he finished assigning the nominees to their ministries 5:30am today.

He also said that highly professional people were appointed.

The governor described the appointment as a rainbow coalition with party loyalistst playing major roles in the nominating process, adding that it was not a winner takes all affair.

He promised that everybody that worked for the success of the party in the last election would be compensated one way or the other, adding, “I assure all that worked for our success that their sweat will not be in vain. It is sinful and criminal not to reward those who had hands in our success at the polls. The appointees were appointed purely on merit and their worthy credentials.”

He told the commissioners that what was permanent was not their positions but their performance hence they should faithfully serve the state.

Commissioners sworn in today are: Barrister Olatubosun George Oladele, Information; Barrister Kazeem Adeshile Adesina, Trade and Investment; Dr. Olaniyi Nurudeen Olarinde, Economic, Planning and Bugetting; Dr. Abdul Lateef Ayinla Olopoenia, Health; Alhaji Yinus Akintunde, Works And Transport; Daniel Abimbola Kolade, Agriculture; Mrs. Atinuke. Osunkoyan Women Affairs and Community Development; and Barrister Mutalubi Ojo Adebayo, Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice.

Others are: Barrister Trimisiyu Obisesan, Establishment; Mrs. Adetokunbo Afusat Adebimpe Fayokun, Education; Adelabu Zacch Adedeji, Finance; Adebayo Oladokun Olagbenro, Applied Science; Peter Oluremi Odetomi, Barrister Olasumbo Ademola Owolabi, Isaac Ajiboye Olalekan Omodewu and Oladimeji Wasiu Dauda.

—Gbenro Adesina/Ibadan

Load more