FG To Build New Gas Pipeline


The Federal Government is to build a new pipeline to facilitate gas supply to the Olorunsogo power station in Ogun State.

The Minister for Power, Professor Barth Nnaji said at the end of a two-day tour of some power plants in the South West, that the pipeline would assist the station to realise its full capacity of 335 megawatts before the end of the year.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Olorunsogo, with an installed capacity of 335 megawatts, currently generates less than 100 megawatts due to inadequate gas supply and spare parts.

“We are quite disappointed at the power plant at Olorunsosgo as out of eight units, only two are struggling to work. “What is expected to get some of the units working effectively is quite little compared to what has been put in place in terms of structures,” he said.

Nnaji also assured workers that the ministry would work with the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) and the Ministry of Petroleum Resources in finding a lasting solution to gas supply at the Olorunsogo station.

He said that efforts were underway to get gas supplied to the station through the Escravos gas pipeline in Lagos.

Related News

Nnaji also reassured that privatisation of the power station would not lead to sack of workers, as more workers would even be needed by new investors.

The Minister of Information, Mr. Labaran Maku said that the tour was to identify problems faced in power generation and distribution to enable government deliver 5,000 megawatts before the end of the year.

“The important thing is that these challenges are surmountable. If you look at Olorunsogo you will see that gas supply is the major problem which is still below expectation and government does not want to build power plant where there is no gas,” Maku said.

Earlier, Mr. Mohammed Almu, acting Chief Executive Officer of Olorunsogo Power Station had said that the station required about N100 million to refurbish some equipment.

NAN reports that the two ministers also visited Egbin Thermal Power Station in Lagos, Transmission Company in Osogbo and Ikeja –West Transmission Station in Ipaja.

Load more