Drama As Governor Amaechi Swears In Commissioners

Gov. Rotimi Amaechi

Gov. Rotimi Amaechi

Governor Chibuike Amaechi today swore in the third batch of nine commissioners out of the 10 nominees at the Executive Chambers of Government House,Port Harcourt.


Gov. Rotimi Amaechi

In a dramatic twist, Dr. Lloyd Okwu, one of the commissioner-nominees, who had appeared for swearing in was left out.

Dr. Lloyd had sat down in the Executive Chambers and filled necessary documents including: oath of office and other personal protocol details before the drama unfolded.

The governor had to delay the swearing in of the new commissioners for about an hour after he had performed the swearing in of five members of the Civil Service Commission headed by Mr. Ngo Martins-Yellowe, publisher of TopNews, a Port Harcourt-based tabloid.

After about an hour, the governor emerged with Chief Godspower Ake, the state Chairman of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the Exco chambers to swear in the rest nine which include Mrs Joeba West, Levi Gogo Charles, Marshall Uwom, Dr Sampson Parker and Joe Poroma.

Others are Chuma Chineye,(from Delta State), Boms Worgu,immediate past chairman, Nigerian Bar Association, Ipallibo Harry and Owene Wonodi.

 P.M.NEWS correspondent who was at Executive Chambers during the swearing in observed that Dr. Lloyd was absent at the chambers about an hour later when the Governor swore in the rest nine.

During his charge to the newly sworn in members of his cabinet, Governor Amaechi warned that any of them found to be corrupt would be fired.

He charged them to work as a team to fulfil the campaign promises made to the people of the state and the administration has about three years and few months because people are still expecting adequate power supply, good roads and other social services which are yet to be provided

By Okafor Ofiebor/Port Harcourt