Accra Set For Glo-CAF Awards


The City of Accra, Ghana, is already agog with excitement at it prepares to host the 2011 Glo-CAF Awards.

Accra is hosting the awards for the third time since the inception of Glo-CAF awards in 2005.

The awards and possible winners have been subject of discussion among football fans and youths across the city.

Three Ghanaian footballers; Andre Ayew of Olympic Marseille, Kevin-Prince Boateng of AC Milan and Asamoah Gyan of Al In, UAE, are in contention for the African Footballer of the Year Award.

Interestingly, none of the three footballers has won the title before with Asamoah Gyan being the closest after emerging as runners up to Samuel Eto’o Fils at the 2010 Glo-CAF awards in Cairo.

Meanwhile, Nigerian players in Europe and other parts of the world have been enjoined to work harder this season to ensure that they are shortlisted for the 2012 edition of GLO-CAF Awards.

The President General of Nigerian football Supporters Club, Dr. Rafiu Ladipo, made this remark in Lagos over the weekend.

No Nigerian player has been shortlisted for Glo-Caf awards in the last three years.

He advised Nigerian players to put in their best and ensure that they emerge among the top three in their various clubs thus ensuring that they get shortlisted for the GLO-CAF Awards next year.

“Let’s rekindle the good old days when our players dominated the list of shortlisted candidates,” he added.

Dr. Ladipo also exhorted the players to work hard ahead of the World Cup qualifiers next year, adding that successful outings in the two competitions will boost the chances of Nigerian players in the 2012 awards.