Beach Volleyball: LASU, UNILAG Win Kemi Surakat Tourney


The maiden edition of Kemi Surakat Inter Local Government Beach Volleyball Championship ended at the weekend amidst pomp and pageantry with Lagos State University, LASU and University of Lagos, Unilag, winning the star prizes in the male and female categories respectively.

LASU beat Omo Eko Beach Volleyball Club 3-2 in the final of the men’s category of the tourney organised to honour the chairman of Ibeju Lekki Local Government. LASU took home the sum of N100, 000, while Omo Eko team got N50, 000. University of Lagos, Unilag team came third and were given the sum of N30, 000.

In the women’s category, Unilag team beat St. Augustine College of Education 3-1 in the final to win the sum of N100, 000, while St. Augustine got N50, 000. Lagos State Polytechnic came third and were given the sum of N30, 000.

Speaking at the final ceremony held at the Eleko Beach, Victoria Island, chairman of Ibeju Lekki LG, Kemi Surakat, said the council plans to make use of the comparative advantage it has in beach sports to keep the youth busy in the area.

Related News

“I want to use this opportunity to call on sports authorities in Lagos State and at the federal level to focus attention on Ibeju Lekki LG to organise beach sports championships.

“I also want the world to know that we have attractive tourist centres in this area. Private investors in our local government are called to live up to their responsibility by supporting sports programmes that will bring good development to this area,” he said.

Sixteen clubs (both male and female) from different local governments in the state took part in the tournament.

Load more