Rivers Govt Reconstitutes Five Boards

ibim semenitari

Semenitari: condemns police action in Port Harcourt

Rivers State Executive Council has announced the reconstitution of the boards of some parastatals in the state.

The state Commissioner for Information and Communication, Mrs. Ibim Semenitari made the disclosure while briefing Government House Correspondents on Wednesday in Port Harcourt, after the exco meeting.

She announced the appointment of Prof. Augustine Ahiazu, a former Vice Chancellor of the state University of Science and Technology as the new Chairman of Rivers State Independent Electoral Commission (RSIEC), following the expiration of the tenure of Prof. Nimi Briggs-led Commission.

Other chairmen of boards appointed by the Exco include former Emohua Council Chairman, Chief Emeka Woke, who now chairs the newly established Rivers State Tourism Development Agency, while Nollywood star Sam Dede is to serve as Director-General.

Also, the state Executive Council announced the appointment of Mrs. Onene Osila Obele Oshoka as the new Chairman of the State Board of Internal Revenue.

Related News

Other boards affected include the state Sports Council with a new Director, Sir Daubo Harry, while the board of the State Traffic Management Agency Management Agency (TMARIV) is to be chaired by Chief Ibe Eresia Eke.

She stated that other members of the board will be announced soon, noting that the old members of the Rivers State Microfinance Agency were re-appointed by Exco.

The State Exco commended the people of the state for conducting themselves peacefully during the subsidy removal protest and lauded the leadership of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), the Trade Union Congress (TUC) and the federal authorities for being able to manage the crisis calmly.

—Okafor Ofiebor/Port Harcourt