PDP's Dickson Wins Bayelsa Governorship Election


The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Seriake Dickson has won the Bayelsa State governorship election, scoring a total of 417,500 votes.

His closest rival, Imoro Kubor of Change Advocacy Party came a distant second with 22,534 votes while Action Congress of Nigeria’s candidate, Kemela Okara came third with 9,627 votes.

Thirty-six parties fielded candidates for the election but MPPP pulled out days before the poll following the death of its candidate,Oduduogwu Tuebi.

Related News

The election was generally adjudged to be peaceful although it was marred by voter apathy.

By Okafor Ofiebor/Yenagoa

Load more