Ogun East ACN: Full Text of Communique



An emergency meeting of Ogun East Senatorial District of the Action
Congress of Nigeria (ACN) was held at Idowa on Sunday 26th February,
2012. The meeting was attended by representatives from each of the
following nine local government areas of the district, namely;

2 Ijebu Ode local government, Odogbolu local government, Ijebu East
local government, Ijebu North East local government, Ogun Waterside
local government, Ijebu North local government, Sagamu local
government, Remo North local government and Ikenne local government.

3 Also in attendance were the following people, Alhaji Rafiu
O.Ogunleye, Senator Sefiu Adegbenga Kaka, Alhaji S. Abimbola Awofeso,
Otunba Oluremi Onasanya, Mr F.A. Sabitu, Alhaji F.G.O. Elias, Hon.
Samson O. Onademuren, Mr Obafemi Adegboyega, Hon.(Engr.) Afolabi
Odusote, Otunba T. Olu Adebanjo and Hon.Bukonla Taofeek Buraimo.

4 (a) The meeting congratulated His Excellency, Senator Ibikunle
Amosun FCA,the Executive governor of Ogun State, on the giant strides
he has taken since his assumption of office to rebuild Ogun State
under the five cardinal point agenda and the manifesto of the Action
Congress of Nigeria.

(b) On the recent efforts of the state government to restructure the
two state universities, Olabisi Onabanjo University, (OOU), Ago Iwoye
and Tai Solarin University of Education, (TASUED),Ijagun and other
tertiary institutions in the state, the meeting called for great
caution and patience in resolving the resultant and ominous problems
and dangers government policy and pronouncements seemed to have
created in academic communities in particular and among the citizenry
of the state in general.

(c) The meeting appreciated, welcomed and endorsed the steps taken by
the National University Commission (NUC) in taking over the
administration of Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED) until
the issues are resolved.

Related News

(d) The meeting commended Senator Sefiu Adegbenga Kaka, Senator
representing the constituency in the National Assembly for his timely
intervention in order to give our state government and party breathing
space to search for a more acceptable and equitable solution to the
present logjam in the education sector.

(e) The meeting believes in expansion of the scope and scale of
education and hence does not support the scrapping or merging of the
tertiary institutions in the State. Consequently, all tertiary
institutions in Ogun State at present should be allowed to exist

(f) The meeting called on our party, the ACN in Ogun State to
constitute a PARTY CAUCUS comprising the leadership of;
1- The Party
2- The State Government
3-The State House of Assembly and
4-Party members at the National Assembly from the State;
to consider anew, the entire proposals and policy thrusts on the
future of Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), Ago Iwoye, the Tai
Solarin University of Education, (TASUED), Ijagun and other tertiary
institutions in the state in the best interests of ALL the citizens of
the state.

(g) The meeting also called for the immediate restoration of the
party’s CONSULTATIVE FORUM, so as to move forward the functions and
activities of the party and government, ensuring lasting confidence of
the party members and the generality of the public.

5-Above resolution were carried out unanimously by the voice vote of
all the sixty- three party members in attendance.

1- Alhaji Rafiu Ogunleye
2- Senator Sefiu Adegbenga Kaka
3-Alhaji S.Abimbola Awofeso
4-Otunba T. Olu Adebanjo
5-Otunba Oluremi Onasanya
6-Mr F.A. Sabitu
7-Alhaji F.G.O. Elias
8-Hon.(Barr.) Samson O. Onademuren
9-Obafemi Adegboyega
10-Alhaji Bashiru Anibi
11-Hon.(Engr.)Afolabi Odusote
12-Mr Dare Adekoya
13-Mrs Labake Adetona
14-Alhaji M.O.T.Olatokunbo
15-Mr Toyin Ayanbadejo
16-Mrs Bukky Onabanjo
17-Alhaji Emilola- Gazal Tunde
18-Barr.Jide Bayo
19-Hon.Olubena Oluwole
20-Hon.Kunle Bolujoko
21-Sobowale M.K.O.
22-Barr. Femi Ogunbanwo
23-Alhaji Tajudeen Kadiri
24-A.O. Moibi
25-Mrs Toyin Abdullahi
26-Chief O. Onakomaya
28-Alhaji T.H.Hazan
29-Otunba C.O.Neye
30-Hon.Obafemi Olowo Oloja
31-Mrs Sidikatu Asesanya
32-Mr Kehinde Adesanya
33-Hon. James Dina
34-Hon.Chief D.A. Adebanjo JP
35-Mrs Susainah Onanuga
36-Hon. Segun Ogunkoya
37-Prince Kunle Ilori
38-Dr.Adekunmisi Afisus
39-Hon.Dele Odebata
40-Mrs Amudalat Odufeso
41-Hon.Okunnusi J.O.
42- Ogundipe A.O.
43-Adebanjo D.O.
44-Ajade Allel
45-Bukky Onadeko
46-Ayo Abiodun
48-Idowu Oyewoga
49-Chief Olaitan Asekun
50-Babatunde Ipaye
51-Ajibola O.Kaka
52-Alhaji Y.A.Olodeoku
53-Hon.Adekunbi B.O
54-Otunba Olore S.A.
55-Hon.Foye Sofodu
56-Mr Femi Sopelola
57-Chief Funsho Awoyemi
58-Chief Sola Somoye
59-M,rs Ajoke Sofodu
60-Mr Haruna Sawe
61-Otunba Olusoye
62-Prince L.A.Oriade
63-Hon.Taofeek Bukonla Buraimo

Load more