Anderlecht win Belgian League


Anderlecht won the Belgian league title for the 31st time on Sunday after a 1-1 home draw against nearest challengers FC Bruges.

The Brussels side have 49 points with two games to go and are seven points ahead of Bruges.

The visitors opened the scoring after 15 minutes through Maxime Lestienne, but Anderlecht grabbed the goal they needed to make sure of winning the title three minutes into injury time with a penalty from Guillaume Gillet.

Related News

Anderlecht will gain direct entry into the Champions League group stages should Bayern Munich win the Champions League final against Chelsea on May 19, but will have to play the third qualifying round if Chelsea win.

It was the 31st league title for Anderlecht since 1945 and the second in three years under coach Ariel Jacobs, sandwiched around RC Genk’s win last year.