Garba re-elected NUJ president


The journalists union in Nigeria has re-elected Mallam Mohammed Garba as its President for another term.

Garba of the Triumph newspaper in Kano was re-elected on Saturday morning at the ongoing national delegate conference of the Nigeria Union of Journalists in Abuja. He beat two other contenders, Funke Fadugba of Ray Power and Mike Aladenika of AIT.

Also re-elected for another term in office were the Deputy National President Mr Rotimi Obamuwagun and Mr Mustapha Lamidi as National Internal Auditor.

Obamuwagun beat Waheed Odusile, the managing editor of The Nation newspaper.

Related News

Others elected to serve in the new executive committee were Adolphus Okonkwo as Financial Secretary, the only woman in the committee, Fatima Abdulkareem, as National Treasurer and a host of other officials.

Accreditation and voting commenced late Friday evening and ended in the early hours of Saturday morning at the Merit House, Abuja.

The newly-elected executive committee members will be inaugurated on Saturday at the NUJ FCT chapter office at Utako at 1 p.m.