Varsity to honour Obasanjo, 2 others


The Modibbo Adama University of Technology (MAUTECH) Yola, has selected three distinguished Nigerians to be conferred with honourary degrees for their contributions to humanity.

The university’s Vice Chancellor, Prof. Bashir Usman, said this on Monday at a pre-convocation news conference in Yola.

“I am privileged to announce, on behalf of the university’s Council and Senate, that three distinguished Nigerians were selected to be awarded honourary degrees for their contributions to humanity and Nigeria as a nation.”

Usman said that those selected were the former president, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, the Lamido of Adamawa, Alhaji Muhammadu Barkindo Mustafa, and the former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Alhaji Usman Nafada.

Related News

He said that during the convocation about 4,283 graduands would receive certificates, three of them first class honours degrees for 2009 and 2010 academic sessions.

The vice chancellor said that 381 graduands got second class upper division, 1,368 bagged second class lower, 904 third class and about 65 graduating with pass degrees.

“Others include 434 higher degrees and 31 doctorate degrees,” Usman said.

He said the university recorded tremendous achievements in teaching and research, staff development, infrastructure development and information and communications technology, among others.