Cricket: Warri Team Sweep Awards At Lagos T20 Tourney


Although they lost the top prize of the inaugural Lagos State T20 Championship to BRF Cricket Club, the Federal Government College, Warri Old Boys Cricket Club, the players cleared most of the awards of the tournament.

BRF bat first and scored 132 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in 3 overs. In return, the Federal Government, Warri team scored 72 runs in 17 overs all out. BRF, however, won by 58 runs.

Out of the six awards given out by the Lagos State Cricket Association, LSCA, in the final of the T20 championship at the TBS Oval, Onikan, Lagos on Sunday, the Deltans won three, while BRF and Government College, Ibadan Old Boys Cricket Club won two and one respectively.

Salako Azeez of Warri team won the Bowler of the Series and Cricketer of the Series awards, while Prosper Mbagwa also of the team won the Wicket Keeper of the Series Award.

Man of the Final Match award went to BRF’s Leke Oyede, while Batsman of the Series award went to BRF’s Ademola Onikoyi. Fieldman of the Series award was won by Osita Onwuzulike of the Government College, Ibadan team.

Related News

Speaking at the final ceremony, 1st Vice chairman of Lagos State Cricket Association, Mr. Ephraim Barnaby said the final was where he expected more fight from the Warri boys only for the BRF team to put up respectable scores to lift the trophy. He also commended members of the association for the support throughout the season.

“I must commend the two finalists for their performance because they made the final a delight to watch,” he said.

President of Nigeria Cricket Federation, NCF, Kwesi Sagoe wanted other states in the country to emulate what Lagos State association is doing to keep the players busy and popularise cricket in Nigeria. “I want to commend the spirit of Lagos State Cricket Association for keeping the tempo high in term or organising tournaments. There is no doubt that with different tournaments being stage here in Lagos, the state is bound to win the two gold medals at stake in the 2012 National Sports Festival,” said Sagoe, who is also the Chairman of African Cricket Association .

Other dignitaries that graced the final ceremony included the General Manager/Chief Operating Officer of NCF, George Wiltshire, 2nd Vice Chairman of the LSCA, Akin Denton, Former Director of Sports, Lagos State Sports Council, Olakitan De Souza and others.

—Taiwo Adelu

Load more