Jonathan Forwards Bill To Change UNILAG


President Goodluck Jonathan has forwarded bills to the Senate to change the names of three federal universities.
They are University of Lagos, to be renamed Moshood Abiola University, Lagos, Federal University of Technology Yola to be changed to Modibbo Adama University of Technology,Yola and Federal University of Agriculture, Umudike to be named after the late Dr. Michael Okpara, Premier of defunct Eastern Region.
The President in a letter to Senate President David Mark on Wednesday, appealed to the legislators to expedite work on the bills.
‘It is my hope that the distinguished Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria will consider and pass these bills in your usual expeditious manner’, he said.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalls that the President announced the renaming of University of Lagos to Moshood Abiola University, Lagos on Democracy Day, May 29, in a nationwide broadcast to honour the late politician who was the acclaimed winner of the 1993 presidential election.
However, students of the University took to the streets protesting against the name change.

Related News