19 villages to be flattened in Nigeria's capital


Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) plans to demolish 19 villages in the territory, an official of the authority said on Thursday in Abuja.

Mrs. Josie Mudashiru, Head of Public Relations Unit, Department of Development Control, Abuja Metropolitan Management Council (AMMC), made this known to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

Mudashiru listed the affected villages as Idu, Karmo-Dape, Tasha, Gwagwa, Suburi, Zauda, Jahi, Gishiri, Mabushi, Mpape, Kuchigoro, Chika, Aleita, Piwoyi, Lugbe, Pyakassa, Tudun-wada, Dei-dei and Guzape.

She said that AMMC had begun a two-month sensitisation programme for residents of the areas.

Related News

“We have commenced sensitisation programmes in Hausa, Ibo, Yoruba, Gbagi and pidgin English in the affected areas before the demolition exercise. We have involved chiefs, youths and other stakeholders in the sensitisation programme. We will proceed for marking after the programme, and hopefully, the demolition will commence before the end of 2012,” Mudashiru stressed.

According to her, several efforts have been made by the FCT Urban Development to persuade non-indigenes to refrain from buying land from local chiefs.

“More than 80 per cent of people living in Lugbe are non-indigenes. They have been warned to desist from buying land from local chiefs but they refused to listen to our advice.

Load more