Tinubu Decries 180 Days For Conclusion Of Election Petitions - P.M. News

Tinubu Decries 180 Days For Conclusion Of Election Petitions


By Jamiu Yisa

The National Leader of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has described the section of the constitution which says all election petitions must be concluded within 180 days after an election as bad blood, and denial of fair hearing to the citizenry.

The two term ex-governor of Lagos State, southwest Nigeria, said this at the 50th birthday celebration of Femi Gbajabiamila, ACN leader in the House of Representatives and his book presentation titled Fearless:  The Emergence Of A Virile And Formidable Opposition Leader.

Tinubu who comended the leadership of the House of Representatives for its doggedness and commitment towards the development of the country, urged it to look critically at the section and do justice to it.

He described the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal, as an inspirational leader to other members of the House, whose contributions have added value and commitment towards the development of the country.

Related News

“I like to commend the House. You are so committed to our national government. We have seen what is happening and we assure that all the legislators who are bound together to build this institution and remain focused on the legislative oversight of this country will not regret it. Don’t be intimidated, we were once there and we sailed through it,” he said.

He described Gbajabiamila as a dedicated and loyal man with a sound mind that has continued to make the country proud.

Tambuwal in his remarks said he was attracted to the celebrant because they both share the same core values irrespective of their political backgrounds.

The event, held at City Hall, Lagos Island, was also attended by the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN, his counterparts in Ogun and Ekiti states, Senator Ibikunle Amosun and Dr. Kayode Fayemi, former Federal Commissioner for Works, Alahaji Femi Okunu, former FCT Minister Nasir El-Rufai, Chief Bisi Akande, Chief Henry Ajomale, Senator Ganiyu Olanrewaju Solomon, GOS, Alhaji Lai Muhammed and Fola Adeola.

Also in attendance were Ayo Adebanjo, Senator Ben Obi, Abike Dabiri Erewa, Jumoke Okoya Thomas, Jimi Agbaje, Adeleke Ipaye, Oba M.O. Hamzat, Musiliu Obanikoro, Wale Oshin, Segun Awolowo among others.