PDP claims victory in Kwara House rerun poll


Nigeria’s Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Abdulfatah Babakini, was on Sunday declared winner of June 30, re-run Kwara State House of Assembly election.

The PDP candidate polled 25,708 to defeat his closest rival of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), Mr Kayode Aiyelabegan, who polled 15,159 in the Ilorin North-West constituency poll.

Some of the results were Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) 3,698 votes; Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) 730; and All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) 227 votes.

Speaking with newsmen in Ilorin on Sunday, Mr Jacob Ayanda, the Director of Public Affairs, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Ilorin, said that Abdulfatah, having scored the highest votes cast, was declared winner.

Related News

Meanwhile, Kwara ACN has rejected the outcome of the re-run election.

The ACN candidate, Aiyelabegan alleged that the exercise was marred by violence and thuggery.

He alleged that voters and supporters of the opposition were harassed and intimidated at the polling units by thugs.

Load more