896 Teams For Lagos Street Soccer


By bimbo ajayi

A total number of 896 teams were drawn into various groups as the MTN Lagos Street Soccer Season 5 draw was held yesterday  at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, Lagos.

The event, which attracted the presence of eminent sports personalities in the state, was packaged by the Lagos State Ministry of Youth, Sports and Social development in conjuction with MTN Nigeria.

The teams, representing streets within Lagos State, will participate in the league which is governed by Futsal rules with permissible variations approved by the Local Organising Committee, LOC.

Related News

The competition will take a strictly grouping format whereby elimination from groups will be determined by round robin procedure with top teams emerging from each group.

Speaking with P.M. Sports, the Head Coach of Lawan Akapo Street, winners of the last edition, Isola Sikiru, said that his team are ready to repeat last year’s feat.

“We are ready to win the tournament again this year because our players have garnered more experience than they had last year. They went on a training tour of Dubai being the winner of the last edition and the tour has really helped the team a lot,” said Sikiru.

The Executive Governor of Lagos State, Babatunde Raji Fashola, will be among the dignitaries who will officially kick off this year’s Street Soccer  tournament, scheduled to hold on Sunday at the Campos mini stadium, Lagos Island.

Load more