Winners Emerge In 2012 BRF Competition


By Jamiu Yisa

Winners have emerged in the 2012 edition of the Be Road Friendly (BRF) essay competition, an initiative of the Lagos State School Traffic Safety Advocacy Programme.

Thompson Abimbola, a Senior Secondary School 3 student of Lagos State Senior Model College, Igbokuta, Ikorodu, emerged winner in the Senior Secondary category, Mezie Paul Ebuka, a JSS 3 student of Lagos State Model College (special), Agbowa Ikosi, emerged winner in the Junior category and Anyaele Modeline of Hope Nursery and Primary School, Mafoluku emerged winner in the primary school category.

The three winners who emerged at the final of the competition held at the Adeyemi Bero auditorium, Alausa, Ikeja, won a return ticket each to the United Kingdom, courtesy of Arik Air and additional N2million financial support from Fidelity Bank.

The competition which was launched in 2009 as a catch-them-young programme was targeted at imbuing in children basic traffic safety knowledge early in life in order to develop the right road user attitude in them.

Dr. Mariam Temitope Masha, Senior Special Assistant to the Lagos State governor on Transport Education, said that for the first time since the ‘Be Road Friendly Competition’ series began in 2009, the recommendations of the 2011 competition winners were implemented and demonstrated by the installation of the pedestrian safety campaign they designed on billboards around the state.

She said that another achievements which the team is proud of was their invitation to Brisbane, Austria in November 2011, to share their progress with the world.

“This not only validates our success here at home, but also goes a long way in encouraging our team by proving to them that the international community is not only watching, but is also ready to benefit from our own local knowledge and practices.

Load more