Jonathan ends emergency rule in Boko Haram councils


Nigerian Government State of Emergency in Four States

The Federal Government has lifted the State of Emergency imposed on 15 local government areas across four states in the North Central and North East geo-political zones in response to increased activities of Boko Haram insurgents 31 December 2011.

Mohammed Bello Adoke, the Minister and Attorney General of the Federation in a statement said, “The Federal Government after a careful review of the security situation in the affected areas has resolved to end the State of Emergency forthwith.

“This is to enable government to put in place appropriate confidence building measures to improve security in the affected areas.

Related News

“In furtherance of the end of the proclamation, the President has accordingly directed that the implementation of the following regulations made pursuant to the proclamation of a State of Emergency in the affected Local Government Areas should cease forthwith,” the AGF added.

Areas affected by the state of emergency which has now been lifted include: Maidugiri Metropolitan, Gamboru Ngala, Banki Bama, Biu and Jere local councils areas in Borno State, Damaturu, Geidam Potiskum, Buniyadi-Gujba and Gasua-Bade in Yobe State, Jos North, Jos South, Barkin-Ladi and Riyom local government areas in Plateau State and Suleja local council in Niger State was imposed in the aftermath of Christmas Day bombing of St Theresa’s Catholic Church, Madalla, Niger State which claimed over 40 lives.

The six months period approved by the National Assembly as constitutionally stipulated for the imposition of emergency in the first instance has expired. There have been calls that the National Assembly should not renew the permission as the state has failed to stop violent activities of Boko Haram in the areas in which it was imposed.,

Load more