ACN sweeps Ogun Council polls


Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN won the chairmanship seat and all the councillorship positions of Ogun Waterside Local Government in the local government election conducted on Saturday.

According to the Electoral Officer, EO, of the local government, Mr. Adewale Ode, candidate of ACN in the chairmanship election, Mr, Rasaq Olatunde Rufai, polled 20,622 to beat his opponents from People’s Democratic Party, PDP, Odunaike Ganiyu (2,469) and People’s Party of Nigeria, PPN, Ganiyat Busari (444).

The ACN also won all the councillorship seats in the 10 Wards of the local government.

Daramola Akorede of the ACN scored 812 votes to beat Olufeso Sakiru of PDP who scored 30 votes.

In Ward 2, ACN’s Bola Ayefiko polled 2,718 to beat Taiwo Adeola of PDP (88) and Bola Waheed of PPN (102).

In Ward 3, Yusuf Abayomi of ACN won with 1,648 votes as against Abdultahibu Adewale of PDP who polled 631 votes.

Otuyiga Ismaila of ACN won Ward 4 with 2,743 votes beating Mr. Adekola of PDP, who polled 461 votes.

In Ward 5, Bakare Sakiru scored 3,083 votes to beat Filajolu Jide of PDP (90) and Mrs. Bisola of PPN (66).

In Ward 6, ACN’s Ibrahim Osaniyu scored 1,179 votes to beat Otaniyi Mutalab of PDP who polled 134 votes.

Oluwole Akinduro Chris of ACN won Ward 7 with 2,263 votes, while Omotayo Akinlolu of PDP scored 110 votes.

Olusegun Akinlolu Victor of ACN won Ward 8 with 1,253 votes.

Lateef Okunwa Adeniyi of ACN was the winner in Ward 9 with 2,417 votes, while Yusuf Soyin of PDP polled 149.

Related News

Adefesobi Taiwo of ACN polled 2,713 to beat Oshinaike Nasirat of PPN (148) and Adedayo Moshood of PDP (119).

The pattern is the same in the other local council declared so far.

In the results announced by the chairman of the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission, the ACN Chairmanship candidates of Ijebu North local
government,Otunba Olaide Osifeso scored a total votes of 60,604 to
defeat Mr Oladapo Fowosire of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) who
scored 18,464 votes and the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) polled

Also ACN cleared all the 11 wards in the local government which
many believed to be a stronghold of the PDP,as it is the base of the
party financier, Prince Buruji Kashamu.

In Ewekoro local government, candidate of ACN emerged the
winner of the chairmanship election conducted yesterday in the

ACN candidate,Oludele Z. A.Soluade polled 14,090 votes while
Olusola Solomon Enitan of PDP scored 3,275. Samuel O. Oguntoyinbo of
African Reinassance Party,ARP has one vote and Bello A.Maryam
garnered 8 votes.

The ACN also won all the 10 Councillorship seats of the local government.

Other results are as follows:

Ifo LG- Oluwole Enilolobo ACN-10,896,Fola Fatiu Salami,PDP-
2,938,Apagun Alani Fagbuyi,APN- 36,APGA-15,CPC-17,PPN-09,ANPP-

The Action Congress of Nigeria won all the 11 wards for the councillorship seats.

More results were being expected as at the time of filing this report.

Reported by Taiwo Adelu and Abiodun Onafuye

Load more