Aregbesola approves new council for UNIOSUN


Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Nigeria’s State of Osun on Tuesday approved the reconstitution of the council of the University of Osun (UNIOSUN), Mr Sunday Akere, the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, said.

According to a statement issued by the commissioner in Osogbo, the seven-member council has Professor G.A Olawoyin (SAN) as Chairman.

Other members of the council are Mr. Remi Olowude, Professor Akinyinka Omigbodun, Professor G.A. Adegboyega, Professor Obafemi Ajibola, Sir Ademola Aladekomo and Dr. Abeke Omotosho.

Statutory members of the Governing Council are the Vice-Chancellor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and four representatives of the University’s Senate.

Related News

Members of the Governing Council also included one representative of the university alumni, one representative of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance.

NAN reports that the current Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ganiyu Olatunde, has been appointed as the acting Vice Chancellor to replace Prof. Sola Akinrinade.

According to the statement, the appointment of the seven members will be for four years while the statutory members will vacate their membership as soon as they leave their positions.

Load more