NPL: Pillars To Get League Crown In Ijebu Ode


Kano Pillars will be crowned Nigerian champions tomorrow after Ocean Boys were thrown out of the league for missing two straight games.

Pillars are meeting Sunshine Stars of Akure at the Dipo Dina Stadium, Ijebu Ode in one of the last match of the season, which are to be play simultaneously across the federation.

The board of the Nigeria Premier League yesterday finally enforced the rule that Ocean Boys be expelled from the league after they failed to honour two straight games during the season and in effect all points for and against them have been deducted from all the teams affected.

NPL board member Abdulrasaq Owolabi Wopa confirmed the Ocean Boys decision.

Related News

“Ocean Boys have been expelled from the league and all the points involving them during the season have been deducted,” said Owolabi who headed the three-man committee set up to decide on this nagging issue.

Pillars, first champions in 2008, will thus be the biggest beneficiaries of this ruling as they remain top of the league on 60 points after the four points they recorded against Ocean Boys were deducted.

Their final day match at Sunshine Stars will therefore be a formality as win or lose they will be champions.

Load more