Pillars crowned Nigeria League champions 2012 - P.M. News

Pillars crowned Nigeria League champions 2012


Taiwo Adelu/Ijebu Ode

It was celebration galore as the players, officials and fans of Kano Pillars went wild on Friday evening, after their darling team were crowned and presented with the gold trophy as winners of the 2011/2012 Nigeria Premier League, NPL.

Although, Pillars lost their last match of the season away to Sunshine Stars of Akure 2-1 at the Dipo Dina Stadium in Ijebu Ode, the team say they had a fulfilling season.

“We are worthy champions, and this is a perfect occasion to receive our league trophy, Pillars’ skipper, Theophilus Afelokhai said.

Chairman of the Nigeria Premier League, NPL, Rumsom Baribote presented the league trophy to Pillars’ captain, Afelokhai, who was assisted by the Deputy Governor of Kano State, Dr. Umar Abdulahi Gwanduje.

Related News

After receiving the trophy, the players went round the field to celebrate the feat, acknowledging cheers from the fans.

The Deputy Governor of Kano state, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, commended the team for making the State proud, adding that the government will support their campaign in the CAF Champions League next season.

In some of the games played on last day of the season, Gombe United defeated Warri Wolves 1-0, while 3SC lost by two goals to nil to Kwara United in Ilorin.

Jigawa Golden Stars, Niger Tornadoes, Rising Stars and suspended Ocean Boys FC were relegated to the National League.