PDP wins Zaria bye election - P.M. News

PDP wins Zaria bye election


Alhaji Shehu Malami Nuhu-Babajo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won Saturday’s by-election into Kaduna State House of Assembly for Zaria constituency.

Announcing the result on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Dr Dauda Ishaya of the Agric Department, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, declared that Nuhu-Babajo scored 13, 659 votes to defeat four other candidates.

“Shehu Malami Nuhu-Babajo of PDP has emerged winner, having satisfied all the conditions and recquirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes.”He is hereby returned as elected member to represent Zaria state constituency at the Kaduna State House of assembly.”

Related News

Kasimu Iliyasu of CPC came second with 9,031 votes and Muhammad Inuwa-Umar of PRP  who got   999 votes came third.

He said Nasiru Shehu of the ANPP scored 504 votes, and Shu’aibu Abubakar of ACN got 150 votes.NAN reports that the by-election took place in six wards of Zaria Local Government Area namely, Kwarbai A, Kwarbai B, Kaura, Anguwan-Juma, Anguwan-Fatika and Limanachi.The by-election was conducted following the death of Alhaji Mustapha Bawa of CPC who died in July, having represented the constituency since 2007.