F/Eagles Depart For SA 'Morrow


Nigeria’s U-20 Flying Eagles will depart the country  tomorrow night from Lagos for South Africa ahead of  their African Youth Championship, AYC, qualifier against the Amajita of South Africa.

The first leg, final round qualifier for the 2013 Africa Youth Championship will be played Friday night at  Nelspruit, which is less than two hours by road from Johannesburg. Kick-off time has been fixed for 7:30  local time, which is 6.30 Nigerian time. The return leg will be played in Ilorin on 13 October.

Both teams clashed in an invitational tournament in Cape Town in July with the home team running away 1-0  winners. Coach of the Nigerian team, John Obuh, yesterday named an almost unchanged squad from their last  clash against Tanzania for Friday’s AYC qualifier in South Africa.

Kano Pillars utility player, Shehu Abdullahi, will be the only player who was not in the squad for the return  leg clash against the Ngorogoro Heroes from Tanzania last month.

Related News

The Squad:

Goalkeepers: Samuel Okani, Jonah Usman. Defenders: Ikechukwu Okorie, Chizoba Amaefule, Halilu Obadaki, Shehu.  Abdullahi, Abonima Izegbu, Tope Aluko, Abubakar Hassan.

Midfielders: Moses Orkuma, Abduljaleel Ajagun, Ovboka Agboyi, Uche Agbo, Chidi Osuchukwu.

Strikers: Alhaji Gero, Yahaya Adamu, Bright Ejike, Umar Aminu.

Load more